ABVP Announces the Names of 10 DUSU Candidates

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Four candidates, out of the selected 10 will be contesting for the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) election next month. 

One of the two major political parties of the DUSU, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), Thursday, released the names of 10 of its members who are to contest for the upcoming elections which will be held on 12th September. Four out of the lot will be contesting for the positions of office bearers

The 10 probable candidates are Tushar Dedha, Yogit Rathi, Sahil Malik, Akshit Dahiya, Sachin, Varun Rekswal, Pradeep Tanwar, Shivangi Kharaab, Jaideep Maan, and Mansi Chauhan. “From Friday onwards, the 10 candidates will visit colleges and talk about the achievements of ABVP-led DUSU,” Siddharth Yadav, Delhi State Secretary, ABVP, said, as reported by Devdiscourse. 

As of now, most of the details have not been disclosed to the public, and the campaigning will perhaps set the course for the party and its members. The candidates have already begun campaigning and were seen visiting various colleges of the North Campus, like Shri Ram College of Commerce, Kirori Mal College, etc., today.

Speaking to DU Beat, Monika, National Media Convener, ABVP, said, “…[A]ctually, majority of the questions will be answered with time – like who is contesting for what position, our strategy, our manifesto, etc., it is only the pre-election campaign which has been started.”

The party had been in headlines last year, because the elected President, Ankiv Baisoya, was found to possess a fake undergraduate degree. The scene had lead to a lot of confusion, and questioning of the credentials of DUSU, with National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) even pressing for re-elections. When asked about the same, Monika reassured that a similar situation would not reoccur. “We have checked the backgrounds of all interested candidates, and this time all are students from the University of Delhi (DU) only.”

More details are expected to come out soon.

Feature Image Credits: Ashutosh Singh for ABVP


Maumil Mehraj

[email protected]

Comments are closed.