Campus Central

Keshav Mahavidyalaya says Yes to the Students’ Union and Affiliation to DUSU

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

On 2nd May 2018, the students of Keshav Mahavidyalaya voted in favour of the establishment of a Students’ Union in the college and its affiliation to the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU). In a much-publicised referendum, the “Ayes” received a thumping majority.

While talking to DU Beat, faculty member of the college Kunal Kumar remarked optimistically, “When the results were announced today, everyone was very happy, including Principal ma’am. Change is always good, and the overall atmosphere in the college is that of positivity and optimism.”
Subham Yadav, a student of the college, revealed fascinating statistics to DU Beat, “About 1600 is the strength of the students who were eligible to vote. Out of them, 1014 students voted yes.”

When asked about the reaction from the college authorities, he responded, “Everyone seemed satisfied. Earlier, the Principal was uneasy about the notion of holding a referendum in college, but now, even she seemed content.”

Earlier, Keshav Mahavidyalaya did not partake DUSU elections and did not have a student’s union. For years, certain sections of the student community demanded both the aforementioned elements in their college. Then finally after several rounds of negotiation, the college authoties decided that Keshav Mahavidyalaya would be holding a referendum to determine the students’ verdict in the matter of the institution of the college students’ union as well as the college’s affiliation to the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU). The referendum was scheduled to be held on the 2nd of May 2018, and the entire process was deemed to be completed by 9 p.m. on the same day.

Now that the long fight has come to an affable end, it’ll be interesting to see how the college changes in the face of upcoming elections. Only time can tell whether polls will be reduced to the muscle and money laced power politics or will actually democratise the college space.


Feature Image Credits: Ankit Alhawatt and Sorav

Vaibhavi Sharma Pathak
[email protected]

Comments are closed.