Top Societies of DU Fest Season 2019


A thing that brings all the aspirants of the University of Delhi (DU) in this country to a sense of fascination is the University’s engagement with the performing arts. With a plethora of opportunities in fields like dance, music, dramatic, debating, students are exposed to the discipline and the adventure of the arts that interest them. DU Beat brings to you, for the first time, a ranking of the top debating societies in the circuit. The hard work was persistent, and the competition heartening. Let’s delve into who made the cut and how.


The best college society in each category was selected by creating a tally of the top 3 positions that could be won at various events. The team that secured the 1st position (winners) was awarded 3 points and the team that secured the 2nd position (finalist) was awarded 2 points. The best adjudicator and the second best adjudicators were allotted 3 and 2 points each, respectively.

46 DU college competitions were considered in the making of the tally. The selection of these 46 competitions was based upon an analysis done by speaking with members of numerous college societies, and tracking the competitions they considered most prestigious. The considered college competitions are limited to only colleges affiliated with DU:

Aryabhatta College
Bharti College
College of Vocational Studies
Dyal Singh College
Daulat Ram College
Delhi College of Arts and Commerce
Deen Dyal Upadhyay College
Gargi College
Guru Gobind Singh College – Freshers
Guru Gobind Singh College – Seniors
Hansraj College
Hindu College – Premchand
Hindu College – Thadani
Indraprastha College for Women
Janki Devi Memorial
Jesus and Mary College
Kamala Nehru College
Keshav Mahavidyalaya College
Kirori Mal College – Freshers
Kirori Mal College – Seniors
Lady Irwin College
Lady Shri Ram College
Mata Sundri College
Maitreyi College
Miranda House
Moti Lal Nehru College (Morning)
Moti Lal Nehru College (Evening)
PGDAV College (Morning)
PGDAV College (Evening)
Ramjas College
Ramanaujan College
Ram Lal Anand College
Satyawati College
Shaheed Sukhdev College of Business Studies
SGTB Khalsa College
SGND Khalsa College
Sri Venkateswara College
Shaheed Bhagat Singh College of Business Studies
Shivaji College
Shri Ram College of Commerce – Freshers
Shri Ram College of Commerce – Seniors
Shyama Prasad Mukherji College
St Stephen’s College – Freshers
St Stephen’s College – Seniors
Zakir Hussain College (Morning)
Zakir Hussain College (Evening)

Top Three Positions

The following are the positions and the points with which they emerged victorious:

Winner- CBS with 47 points
First Runner-up- Venkateswara with 45 points
Second Runner-up – KMC with 40 points

Points Tally

The Winning Society at a Glance

The CBS Debating Society shared its delight with DU Beat correspondent, Shivani Dadhwal- “This year has been an extremely rewarding year for our society. We have increased our tournament wins from 4 to 9, beating our own record many times over. However, this journey hasn’t been an easy one. Being a business college, We didn’t have exposure to social studies in our college curriculum. Some would consider this a disadvantage but we were able to overcome this with the constant dedication, hard work and commitment of all the members.

Our society is new to the circuit and we have actively debated only in the last few years. Initially our members found it difficult to even find an opportunity to participate as our society enjoyed no recognition. It fills us with immense joy to see our society  reach such heights. We are confident all our current and future members will continue to work and inspire.”

Active Members

      1. Jatin Gupta (President)

  1. Meher Jauhar
  2. Bhavya Bhatia
  3. Nimratt Singh
  4. Ragini Jetly
  5. Ayush Gupta
  6. Anany Jain
  7. Udit Miglani
  8. Bhavya Mehta
  9. Avantika Mathur
  10. Archit Dikshit
  11. Kshitij Bansal
  12. Tanish Mittal (Vice President)
  13. Suraj Chawla
  14. Naman Wadhwa
  15. Devesh Mittal
  16. Ajatshatru Singh Rawat
  17. Rakshit Sinha
  18. Abhi Bansal
  19. Adittya Dhingra
  20. Aashish Kumar
  21. Ayushman Jain
  22. Dev Goel
  23. Medha Bhasin
  24. Muskaan Sharma
  25. Raghavv Garg
  26. Samridhh Sharma
  27. Shreyan Puri
  28. Satwik Rajput
  29. Srishti Bhandari
  30. Samyak Jain
  31. Rohan Kumar
  32. Vasu Aggarwal
  33. Yuganshu Bhagat
  34. Yash Jain

Winners Tally

From among the colleges we considered, the CBS Debating Society secured positions at the following competitions:

Winners: Hindu College (Thadani), Zakir Hussain College (Morning), Kamala Nehru College

Finalist: Deen Dyal Upadhyay College, Gargi College, Hindu College (Premchand), Indraprastha College, Janki Devi Memorial College, LSR College, SRCC Freshers

Best Adjudicator: Dyal Singh College, Hansraj College, Indraprastha College, Jesus and Mary College, Moti Lal Nehru College (Morning), Ramjas College

2nd Best Adjudicator: Delhi College of Arts and Commerce, Deen Dyal Upadhyay, Hindu College (Premchand)

Data Analysis and Compilation by:

Shivani Dadhwal

[email protected]

Anushree Joshi

[email protected]

Feature Image Designed by:

Palak Mittal for DU Beat

[email protected]