One of the many things that make the University of Delhi happening and enchanting is the performing arts societies and their marvelous annual productions. In the past few months, we saw cut-throat competition across several Delhi University colleges. The hours and hours of practice and hard work were put to test this fest season and from amongst the pool of massive talent, some groups emerged brighter than the others. We attempt to select the best society of the lot.

The best college society in each category was selected by creating a tally of the top 3 positions that could be won at various events. The society that secured the 1st position was awarded 3 points, the society that secured the 2nd position was awarded 2 points, and finally, the society securing the 3rd position was awarded 1 point.
Eight college fests were referred to while evaluating the top societies tally this fest season. They were: Tarang, LSR; Ullas, KNC; Tempest, Miranda House; Montage, JMC; Mecca, Hindu College; Reverie, Gargi College; and Nexus, Sri Venkateswara College.

The Top Three
In the Choreography category, Terpsi Chorean, Choreography Society of Hansraj College, scored the maximum points. Terpsi Choreon’s 12 points were followed by Sparx, the Choreography Society of Gargi College (10 points). The third position was bagged by Sensation, the Choreography Society of Kirori Mal College (7 points).

Points Tally: Choreography Dance

The Winning Society at a glance

With this year’s annual production “The Invictus”, Terpsi Chorean remained in the winners tally in almost all fests. Their piece was powerful, evocative, and impeccably coordinated. The story of survival and perseverance was conveyed clearly and the emotions were expressed with grace and skill.  While in conversation with DU Beat, Pawni Singhal (President) said, “This year has been an extraordinary one with lots of miseries and happiness at the same time. I have experienced the best time of my life by working with the best team members one can get. Overwhelmed with love and hard work everyone became each other’s strength and never let Terpsi Chorean down.”
Performing members

Pawni Singhal (President)
Saksham Bhargava (Vice-President )
Keshav Khurana
Shubhangi Derhgaweri
Bhavya Gupta
Shrinkhla Mehta
Ayushi Chirania
Mukul Chauhan
Dhruv Vijay
Akhilesh Jaison
Bineet Kaur
Pansy Dhingra
Ayush Kumar
Muskan Verma
Dishant Tomar
Vishakha Mehra
Deepanshu Sharma
Aditi Rana
Winners Tally
Out of the eight colleges we considered, Terpsi Chorean won at:
I Position: Crossroads, Ullas
II Position: Montage, Mecca, Tarang

(Hover over the icons to know more about their victories)

Images Designed by Kartik Kakar for DU Beat  ([email protected])

Vaibhavi Sharma Pathak ([email protected])
Niharika Dabral ([email protected])

Nritiyakriti, the Choreography competition on Day 1 of Ullas was organised by Adagio, the Choreography Society of the college. There were a total of 8 participating teams including Kirori Mal College, Gargi College, Sri Venkateswara College and Hansraj College. The judges for the event were Mr. Adi, Director of Rada and known for blending contemporary with lyrical hip-hop and Mr. Arjun Kohli, guest artist with Anveshana Dance Theatre and Urshilla Dance Company.

cho_nHindu College’s Choreography Society- Srijya put up a performance titled ‘Paradox’. Ashish from Hindu College elaborated, “We’ve put up our performance related to fear, three different levels of fear. The organisation of the event has been good and all participants were competitive enough.”

Eventually Gargi College’s choreography society Sparx won the first place in the competition, with Hansraj College’s Terpsichorean following second. One of the judges said, “I have seen all colleges, some are good, some are better. I’ve seen lack of synchronisation in almost all performances.” He also emphasised that “performances should have a wow factor”.

The Debating Society of the college, Crossfire also conducted a conventional debate earlier in the day. The motion for the debate was – This house believes that temporary anarchy is the only means to achieve a stable democracy as an end. Madhav from KMC, Divya from KMC and Mehvish from St. Stephen’s were adjudged the best speakers and Divya from KMC was the best interjector.