DU UG Admissions


The Non Collegiate Women’s Education Board (NCWEB), established in 1943 through an amendment in the Delhi University Act, is a special provision of the university through which female candidates can take examinations of the University with coaching on the weekends, without the requirement of attending regular classes. Degrees are granted for undergraduate and postgraduate courses through this system.

NCWEB only accepts female applicants residing in Delhi NCR and offers lectures only during the weekends and academic breaks. The non collegiate students are not authorized to enroll themselves in other full time courses. The board began functioning in September 1944 with three students. Currently, the enrollment is more than 24,000 as the board is able to accommodate only 20% of the applicants. The admission is granted on the basis of merit through declaration of cut-offs.

The first cut-off list for the admissions this year will be released on June 30. Rakesh Batra, teacher in-charge of NCWEB admissions at Hansraj College said, “We offer a total of 288 seats in two courses, B.A. Programme and B.Com. Programme. The response has been really good till now and all our seats get filled. The classes in Hansraj are conducted on Saturdays or during the vacations.”

Hemchand Jain, Vice Principal of Deen Dayal Upadhyay College said, “NCWEB was introduced to our college last year. We offer a total of 495 seats for two courses- B.A. Programme and B.Com. Programme. The enrolled students are performing really well and doing wonders since we have seen great results in this past year.” Since there is no classroom teaching, no written material is given. The students have to maintain a minimum of 66% to appear for the university examinations. There are 50 teaching days in a year and at the Undergraduate level, classes are held between  9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m with 6 periods in a day.

Anju, a second year student of B.A. Programme at Deen Dayal Upadhyay College said, “We have around 60 classes during the year and we have classes every Saturday and throughout December. The classes have been very fruitful for me and I am doing a course on makeup along with this.”

Professors of the Delhi University and affiliated colleges are deputed as guest faculty to teach the non collegiate students. The pass percentage is similar to that of regular students. The programme accepts students at a low cost and utilises existing infrastructure of educational institutions. Financial aid is provided to needy and deserving students for the academic year.

NCWEB provides library facility to all undergraduate students in their respective teaching centres and the postgraduate students can access the library at Arts Faculty Building, North Campus.

NCWEB offers the following courses:

  • M.A./M.Sc.Mathematics

  • M.A. in English

  • M.A. Hindi

  • M.A. History

  • M.A. Philosophy

  • M.A. Political Science

  • M.A. Bengali

  • M.A. Sanskrit

  • M.A. Urdu

  • M.A. Punjabi

  • M.A. Arabic

  • M.A. Persian


The following are the NCWEB teaching centres for undergraduate programmes:

  • Aditi Mahavidyalaya

  • Aryabhatta College

  • Bhagini Nivedita College

  • Bharti College

  • College Of Vocational Studies

  • Deen Dayal Upadhayay College

  • Dr. B.R. Ambedkar College

  • Hansraj College

  • J.D.M College

  • Jesus & Mary College

  • Kalindi College

  • Keshav Mahavidyalaya

  • Lakshmi Bai College

  • Maharaja Agrasen College

  • Maitreyi College

  • Mata Sundri College

  • Miranda House

  • Motilal Nehru College

  • P.G.D.A.V. College

  • Rajdhani College

  • Ramanujan College

  • Satyawati College

  • SGGSC of Commerce

  • SPM College

  • Sri Aurobindo College

  • Vivekananda College

Postgraduate classes are held at the Tutorial Building, Arts Faculty, University of Delhi, North Campus.

Screenshot_20180701-204934 (1)

The first NCWEB cut-off was released yesterday.

To download the cut-off click on –  NCWEB-1st cut-off

Feature Image Credits: College Duniya

Muskan Sethi

[email protected]


Delhi University’s Non-Collegiate Women’s Education Board (NCWEB) is a forum through which female students in the National Capital Territory of Delhi can attain a DU degree in three-year B.A. (Programme) or B.Com. courses without attending regular classes in DU colleges. The NCWEB holds classes on college campuses on Saturdays, Sundays, and during academic breaks. There are 50 teaching days in a year, from 8am to 3:30pm. A minimum attendance of 66% is required for the student to be eligible for giving the DU exams. Admission is granted on the basis of merit through the declaration of cut-offs.

Applying to the NCWEB:

Applicants to the NCWEB must register through the common online undergraduate portal at http://ug.du.ac.in/. They must fill in their personal details and indicate the courses of their choice. Admission will be granted on the basis of marks obtained in the best four subjects (for a detailed explanation of how to calculate your best of four, read: Calculation of best of four). The NCWEB grants reservations as per the DU rules. There are a total of 284 seats in the B.A. (Programme) course and 184 seats in the B.Com. course.

The eligibility criteria for admission to the NCWEB are as follows:

  • Female student
  • Resident of NCT
  • Not pursuing any full-time course

Important Dates:

July 12 – First cut-off list (admissions on July 12, 13, 14)

July 15 – Second cut-off list (admissions on July 15, 16, 17)

July 18 – Third cut-off list (admissions on July 18, 19, 20)

July 21 – Fourth cut-off list (admissions on July 21, 22, 23)

July 25 – Fifth cut-off list (admissions on July 25, 26, 27)

NCWEB Teaching Centers:

  1. Bharati College
  2. Hansraj College
  3. Janki Devi Memorial College
  4. Jesus & Mary College
  5. Kalindi College
  6. Lakshmibai College
  7. Maharaja Agrasen College
  8. Maitreyi College
  9. Mata Sundri College
  10. PGDAV College
  11. SGGSC of Commerce
  12. SPM College
  13. Vivekananda College

For more details, refer to: http://ncweb.du.ac.in/

Feature Image: theviewspaper.net

Vineeta Rana

[email protected]

Several Delhi University colleges grant concessions to girls candidates in the cut-off for admission in certain courses. The amount of concession, the colleges and courses change every year. This year, the admissions committee has permitted 24 colleges to provide 1% concession to girls candidates in the cutoffs in a few courses. The colleges which will be offering this concession are:

1. ARSD College

2. Acharya Narendra Dev College

3. Aryabhatta College

4. Deen Dayal Upadhyaya College

5. Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar College

6. Dyal Singh College

7. Maharaja Agrasen College

8. Motilal Nehru College

9. Motilal Nehru College (E)

10. Ram Lal Anand College

11. PGDAV College

12. PGDAV College (E)

13. Ramjas College

14. Rajdhani College

15. Ramanujan College

16. Shivaji College

17. Shaheed Bhagat Singh College (E)

18. Shyam Lal College

19. Shyam Lal College (E)

20. Satyawati College

21. Satyawati College (E)

22. Sri Venkateswara College

23. Zakir Husain Delhi College

24. Zakir Husain Delhi College (E)

Except ARSD College, other colleges don’t offer concession for all courses. The complete college wise list of the courses for which concession is being provided is available in Annexure II of the Information Bulletin released by Delhi University for undergraduate admissions, which is on pages 51 – 55 of the Bulletin.

The Information Bulletin can be accessed here.

Feature Image: Vibhana Kanwar for DU Beat