Lady Shri Ram College for Women

LSR holds elections to its Students’ Union

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Lady Shri Ram College for Women recently held elections to its Students’ Union for the academic year 2015-2016; the Union has four posts – President, Cultural Secretary, General Secretary and Treasurer. The election week, which lasted from March 23 to March 27, saw the candidates for the different posts go through a series of confrontations and group discussions and also saw some very enthusiastic campaigning.

The candidates who stood for the post of President this year were Aditi Kakkar, Apoorva Kavin, Bhawana Mehrotra and Kajal Sonkar; the post is open only to second years. For the post of the Cultural Secretary, the contest was between Anjali Naidu, Devangshi Singh, Shagorika Das and Tanya Budholiya; this post is also open only to second years. The first years are welcome to contest for the posts of the General Secretary and the Treasurer and this year four candidates stood for the former post and two for the latter; Devi Santosh, Naasha Ahuja, Swastika Jajoo and Yasha Spriha stood for the General Secretary’s post and Akshita and Soorya for Treasurer.

The campaigning, last year, was in full fervor throughout the week and supporters for each candidate outdid the rival camp with the catchiest of slogans and tweaked Bollywood lyrics. Banners and panels with the candidate’s agendas lined the pathways of the college and they were what the informal and the formal confrontations were based on. The candidates promised to lower the prices in the café, a major source of grouse amongst the students and another common feature of all agendas were the new ideas for Tarang, the college’s cultural fest. “The putting up of agendas and the series of confrontations and discussions make the Union elections a highly democratic process”, says Jayanti Jha, a final year student. This year, the outgoing Union had also instituted an Election Commission to keep a check on the campaigns and the voting; the voting was done through a secret ballot in the presence of staff members.

The results were declared late in the evening on Friday- Apoorva Kavin as President, Shagorika Das as Cultural Secretary, Yasha Spriha as General Secretary and Soorya Shenoy as Treasurer. The formal handing over will be held later in April. “There are no words to describe what I feel. Forever grateful for the incredible trust that the student body has placed in me. I hope and I believe that I will live up to the expectations,” said Apoorva.

[email protected]; Alankrita is a student of Journalism at Lady Shri Ram College for Women. Technology is one thing that terrifies her and at the helm of a good old newspaper is where she hopes to be one day. Reading, writing and holidaying (not necessarily in that order) are her favourite things to do. If not a journalist, she would be a politician, as goes the trend.

Comments are closed.