Executive Councillor DU


Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad wins 7 out of the 11 Executive Councillor Posts at the Delhi University Students’ Union Elections, as declared this Tuesday.


On Tuesday, 22nd October 2019, the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) claimed 7 out of 11 Councillor Posts in the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) Executive Committee.


ABVP’s Tushar Baisla secured the position of the first councillor with the highest number of votes. The posts of executive councillors went to ABVP’s Vaibhav Chaudhry, Nishulk Kharb, Taranprit Kaur, Suryansh Singh, Ravindra Beniwal and Shubham Chaudhry.


In a press release by the ABVP on Tuesday, Sidharth Yadav, State Secretary, ABVP Delhi said, “ABVP’s victory in the Executive Councillor election is a testament to the emergence of a tenacious and proficient cadre of student activists. That ABVP has found its feet as a sincere representative of students’ interests is evidenced by the popular support it enjoys across the entire spectrum of the student community.”


In the same press release, Akshit Dahiya, President DUSU, and Pradeep Tanwar, Vice-President DUSU, congratulated the winners and said, “After the victory in the Central Panel and for the posts of Central Councillors, the victory of ABVP in Executive Committee elections certifies the trust of students in us. Vibrant student activism in DU has given leadership not only in politics but also in other fields such as corporate, education, management, science etc. We will work alongside the Central Council and Executive Committee in the interests of the students.”


ABVP volunteers held celebrations in Delhi University’s North Campus after the declaration of results. “Executive Committee is democratically an important part of the Delhi University Students’ Union. The structure of the Delhi University Students’ Union differs from other students’ unions due to the affiliation of colleges. Already the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad had a majority in the Central Council and now also has a majority in the Executive Committee. We have already started work on the 5P model that we gave in our manifesto and are trying to do whatever is possible through the student union, We will try to give our best. We thank all the students of Delhi University and the members of DUSU Central Council for this great victory,” Ashutosh, ABVP’s Delhi Media Conveyor, told DU Beat.


The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad won three seats in the Delhi University Students Union Elections conducted recently.


Featured Image Credits- Indian Express

Shreya Juyal

[email protected]